G is for Generosity

Being socially generous

You've probably seen me in the videos I've filmed, striking up conversations with random strangers on the street. But did you know…

Please be in my interview-video.

I'm actually an introvert, and a reserved one at that.

Growing up as an only child, I’m used to spending a lot of time by myself. Most comfortable within my social shell, it is all the more ironic that my vocation now involves striking up conversations with random strangers on the street.

I say this to empathize with those of you who are shy and reserved, where opening up and starting interactions requires a lot of energy. But by the end of this article I hope to show you that it is also one of the most generous things you can do.

When you are listening to someone speak, you are giving away your time and energy.

When you create an interaction with a stranger, you are bearing social risk and giving away your comfort.

When you choose to remain open-minded rather than judgmental, you surrender your need to be right and your need for certainty.

Sometimes, the giving away of our social selves can be more impactful than the giving of money or gifts.

“You know what I tell people? Acknowledgement is worth more to me than money, any day.” - Blue

Did you know the Latin root word for “generosity” is “genus,” which means “race” or “kind?” And the root word for “genus” is “generosus,” which means “of noble birth”. To be generous represents a kind of nobility, a lofty yet humble demeanor that acknowledges one’s own worth while uplifting others.

When you open up and initiate connection, you embody this noble spirit. By sharing a piece of yourself, you have the power to uplift and inspire those around you.

How to Practice Social Generosity

Ask and Compliment: What if, the next time you interacted with a cashier, you asked them how their day was going or gave them a genuine compliment? (It may feel weird at first but by the second or third time it will feel natural!)

Introduce Yourself: What if, the next time you saw someone wandering by themselves at an event or church service, you went up to them and introduced yourself?

Smile: What if, the next time you made eye contact with a stranger, you gave them a gentle smile?

Listen: What if, the next time you chose to listen in a conversation rather than speak?

Taking on a mindset of social generosity won’t necessarily make initiating connection any less difficult, after all, if it was easy and didn’t cost you anything - would it still be considered generous? It will however, make things lighter. When you take on a generous mindset, you are less outcome-dependent and more free-flowing. They can take it or leave it, it’s all a gift.

The last point I’ll leave with you is this: what you give comes back to you. This is an inherent law of life.

It’s stated in the Bible (Luke 6:38, Proverbs 11:25), reflected in the idea of karma, and even proven scientifically (for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction—Newton’s third law of motion).

When you open up, the world opens up in return. It may not happen every time, but over time, you will see the fruits of your labor.

My life has changed as a result of stepping outside my comfort zone and connecting with those around me. Experiencing this richness of life has brought me deep satisfaction, and I would love for you, for EVERYONE, to experience this wealth too.

With curiosity,

Eric

P.S. Next time you’re at a coffee shop, ask the barista how their day is going, give them a compliment, or ask what their favorite drink is. Then reply to this email and let me know how it went! I'd love to hear about your experience!

P.P.S. Curious about the story behind the photo in this email? Stay tuned for my next post—I’ll be sharing all about my time with Blue!

If this article was helpful consider forwarding it to a friend. If you haven’t subscribed yet, click the button below to subscribe and never miss out on more articles: